Skilled Recognised Graduate Subclass 476 Visa

Who is this visa for?

It is for recent engineering graduates of recognised institutions to gain up to 18 months of skilled work experience and who are:

  •  under 31 years of age
  • have completed an engineering degree at a recognised institution in the past two years
  • not have been the primary visa holder of a subclass 476 or 485 visa.
  • Can meet required English skills

Which Qualifications are accepted?

In the two years before you apply, you must have completed one of the following qualifications in engineering:

  • bachelors degree
  • masters degree
  • doctoral degree
  • postgraduate diploma.

If you have completed a Bachelor of Engineering you must also have specialised in one of the areas below:

  • civil engineering
  • structural engineering
  • chemical engineering
  • environmental engineering
  • electrical and electronics engineering
  • mechanical, production and plant engineering
  • mining and material engineering.

​You must have completed your engineering qualification at a recognised educational institution.

Other recognised institutions


Catholic University of Argentina


Federal University of Minas Gerais


  • Universidad Catolica del Norte Catholic University of Chile—Antofagasta
  • University of Chile
  • University of Concepcion


HUT, Helsinki


  • RWTH, Aachen
  • Technical University of Berlin
  • Technical University of Clausthal
  • TU Bergakademie Freiberg
  • University of Hannover


University of Miskolc


  • Anna University—Chennai
  • Baranas Hindu University—Varanasi
  • Indian Institute of Science—Bangalore
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
  • Indian School of Mines—Dhanbad


  • Amir Kabir University of Technology
  • University of Tehran

People’s Republic of China

  • Beijing Normal University
  • Beijing Petroleum University
  • Beijing University of Chemical Technology
  • Beijing University of Technology (formerly Beijing Polytechnic University)
  • China University of Mining andTechnology—Beijing
  • Guangzhou University
  • Shanghai University of Engineering Science
  • Shanghai Jiaotong University
  • Tongji University
  • Tsinghua University
  • University of Science and Technology—Beijing


University of the Philippines


Wroclaw University of Technology


TU Kosice


Lulea University of Technology


University of Dar es Salaam

Want to know if you are eligible, contact us today to help you get started with your Australian journey to permanent residence?

1300 015 592 for consultation today